The Jamaica National Group appoints new Chair and Deputy Chair

    JN Group

    The Jamaica National Group has appointed Elizabeth Ann (Betty Ann) Jones as the new chairman of the Group following the passing of former chairman, Oliver Clarke, who died on May 16.

    Chief Executive Officer, Earl Jarrett, was appointed deputy chair and joins Dhiru Tanna, Executive Chairman of Blue Power Group Limited, as co-deputy chair of the Group.

    A retired senior partner of KPMG in Jamaica, Ms Jones joined the board of the Jamaica National Building Society in 2014, and was appointed chairman of JN Fund Managers Limited in 2015. With the restructuring of the JN Group in February 2017, she was named a director of JN Bank Limited, JN Financial Group Limited and The Jamaica National Group Limited. In April 2019, she was appointed chairman of the JN Financial Group and co-deputy chair of The Jamaica National Group.

    Ms Jones has had a long, distinguished career in the accounting field. She is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants; a retired Chartered Accountant; and a previous chairman of KPMG CARICOM, a regional governance entity comprising KPMG member firms in the Caribbean. She is also a director of Radio Jamaica Limited and 1834 Investments Limited.

    She has served on several tax reform committees and was seconded to the Ministry of Finance, between 1989 and 1992, as special advisor to the Minister on taxation and related matters, in particular the implementation of the General Consumption Tax.

    Mr Jarrett’s appointment as co-deputy chairman of The Jamaica National Group comes on the heels of his appointment in June as chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica. He served as General Manager of the Jamaica National Building Society from 1999 to 2016, and was appointed CEO of The Jamaica National Group in 2017.

    Dr Tanna is one of the longest serving directors of The Jamaica National Group, having been appointed a member of the board of the Jamaica National Building Society in 1981. Dr Tanna serves on the board of several JN companies including JN Fund Managers Limited, JN Bank Limited and the MCS Group Limited.

    Was this article helpful?